Low Carb Buffalo Chicken Cheezy Bake

“my spin-off of a popular facebook recipe!”

Recently, on Facebook a recipe was getting shared around; ‘Low Carb Buffalo Chicken Bake!” It looked amazing, andddd it’s low carb? YES! If you know me, you know I love anything buffalo flavored! So, I had to make my own creation of this amazing dish!

I think this meal could be a nice Sunday dinner, an easy weeknight meal pre-prepped and frozen, or made for lunch meal prep!

 

img_3108

Let’s get started with all of our ingredients

  1. cauliflower (one head)
  2. chicken (about one lb)
  3. plain greek yogurt (1 cup of)
  4. cream cheese (1/3 brick)
  5. shredded cheddar cheese (1 cup)
  6. buffalo sauce (5 tbs)
  7. green onions (a handful or so)
  8. olive/coconut/avocado oil (I will be using avocado)
  9. blue cheese/ ranch greek yogurt dressing (1 cup) (I use OPA, blue cheese)
  10. panko breadcrumbs (OPTIONAL)

 

set the oven to 375° / bring water to a boil

Spray your baking pan lightly. You can chop up the cauliflower to your liking, I prefer smaller pieces. Lay the chopped cauliflower in your baking pan. As mentioned in other recipes, I love my pyrex baking dishes!

Lightly drizzle your oil-of-choice on top of the cauliflower. Pop that pan in the oven for about 20 minutes to soften the cauliflower.

img_3130

Now, I trim the chicken and put that in the pot of boiling water. I find that boiling chicken is the easiest way to shred it afterward. Boil the chicken until it is completely cooked and looks like a white-ish color. Mine cooked thoroughly in about 10 minutes or so.

While the cauliflower and chicken are cooking, it’s time to prep our sauce. This sauce is so simple and easy to make. Combine 3/4 cup of greek yogurt dressingcream cheesegreek yogurt, hot sauce, green onions. Stir until thoroughly mixed. Remove roasted cauliflower from the oven.

Remove the chicken from the water with tongs and set on a plastic plate or plastic cutting board. Shred that chicken! I use two forks which typically helps me to shred faster. Once done, spread the chicken evenly across the cauliflower. Drizzle the sauce evenly across the chicken. Sprinkle the cheddar cheese across the top. Top with a little green onion & parsley for fun! Optional: sprinkle with panko breadcrumbs to add a little crunch.

Put the dish back in the oven for about 20-25 mins, depending on how crispy you would like the top. Let cool for about 5 minutes and serve with a pie cutter or flat spatula!

Makes 6-8 servings.

**This dish reheats fairly well, but for the best results, remove from pan after serving into a Tupperware dish and cauliflower tends to get watery.

I think this recipe would be great with BBQ sauce! What other flavors would make this recipe amazing?! Comment below!

Till next time, T ♥

 

 

Author: Taylor Flowers

Upstate, New York living. Wifey, pet momma, hairstylist, crafter, aspiring homemaker, & sarcasm connoisseur.

my reply: